The Short Week After the Budget Passed

Hello from Harrisburg!

During the week of July 4th I wrote a constituent letter for the health and human services department in the Legislative Policy and Research Office. It was kind of exciting because it was on a topic that the House was grappling with in current legislation. So we had to wait to hear how it was going to be used in legislation that was being debated in committee. I have also been like a sponge and when I am not working on anything I read as much information as I can or watch past press releases and committee meetings on my computer. I think it can’t hurt to be fairly informed on the issues I might be required to write about. It was also a pleasant surprise to find out that the entire Democratic Caucus had an early dismissal on Wednesday July 3rd and had off Friday July 5th. We were told that it was because the budget was passed. This made for a very nice holiday weekend and in my case, birthday weekend as well because I turned twenty years old on July 7th.

Alexis

Leave a comment